More and people have begun to look into a Gluten free diet for a number of reasons. Most people who look for gluten free foods do it out of a necessity because of an allergy to gluten or Celiac Disease. However, many people may still be unfamiliar with gluten and the effects it can have on their health. In fact, many people may not even know what gluten is and what types of foods contain this substance.
What Is Gluten?
Gluten is a composite of protein found in foods processed with wheat. It can also be found in barley, oats and rye. This does not mean that these foods themselves automatically contain gluten. Rather, it is a substance like glue that gives these foods a chewy texture. Chances are that wheat products that are not organic will contain some type of gluten substance. Those who experience an allergy to gluten usually have gluten intolerance or possibly Celiac Disease.
One way that Celiac Disease is identified is that it is a sudden allergic reaction that manifests itself in a few symptoms including abdominal pain, bloating and diarrhea. There may also be other more serious symptoms such as those that indicate Irritable Bowel Syndrome. Some may also break out in a rash or experience other irritations that affect the digestive system, which can lead to weight loss. Those who have a gluten intolerance rather than celiac disease may experience symptoms at a slower rate than those with celiac disease and are more difficult to diagnose.
People who suffer from celiac disease experience an inflammation of the lining of the small intestine, which means it is difficult to absorb all the nutrients the body needs. In addition to the irritations like bloating, diarrhea and weight loss, celiac disease can lead to damage of some other major organs including brain and liver as well as to the bones and nervous system.
What Foods Contain Gluten?
Many different types of foods contain gluten. Grains including barley, bran, bulgur, farina, kamut, orzo, semolina, spelt and wheat have gluten. Pastas made of farina, semolina and wheat as well as cereals containing barley, bran, rye, wheat and sometimes corn, oats and rice also contain gluten. Processed meats and poultry including breaded chicken or meat, meats processed with “natural flavors” like hot dogs, lunch meat and meats that are oven or deep-fried also contain gluten.
Those who have had a bad reaction to many baked goods may also have an intolerance or the signs of celiac disease. These baked goods include bagels, bread, bread crumbs, cake, cupcakes, hot dog buns, muffins, pastries, pie crust, pizza crust, sandwich buns and tortillas. There are also other foods that contain gluten such as beer, bouillon cubes, candy, canned soups and broth, couscous, dressings, fast food or restaurant French fries, frozen and canned vegetables in sauce, gravies, potato chips, sauces, tabbouli and tortilla chips.
How Can Celiac Disease Be Prevented?
Since there is no cure for celiac disease or gluten intolerance, it is important to prevent it and avoid gluten. Fortunately, many of the aforementioned foods are available in gluten-free forms. There are also other foods that are naturally free of gluten that can be included in a diet. They include fresh eggs, most dairy products, fruits, vegetables and fresh fish, poultry and meat. Unprocessed beans, nuts and seeds are also gluten free.
Other foods including amaranth, arrowroot, hominy, corn, flax and buckwheat can also be part of a gluten-free diet. Foods like soy, sorghum, rice, quinoa and millet are also safe. Of course, unprocessed flours like bean, corn, potato, rice and soy flours are also free of gluten. There are also other ways to obtain a diet free of gluten including those that use juciers, but it is important to use the right ingredients that do not contain processed foods.
How Can Juicing Help a Gluten-Free Diet?
Many people have turned to juicing recipes in order to live a life free of gluten. However, it is important to find the right type of juicers that prepare foods in the right way. This means that the juicer should use a slow process that releases more nutrients and vitamins and allow them to metabolize more easily. Furthermore, some juicers provide a dry pulp that can be used in other recipes including banana bread and sauces.
Many of these juicing recipes will contain fruits and vegetables. Even if the juicer used extracts the pulp that contains the fiber, it will still leave the juice with plenty of nutrients that are absorbable even by someone who suffers from celiac disease. The pulp can be added to other recipes when there is a need for fiber. No matter how food is prepared, it is very important to look at labels to make sure it does not contain gluten.
Incoming search terms:
- gluten wheat and dairy free jucing